Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 21st, 2012

Latong Cuyo

Latong Cuyo

Read Full Post »

Read Full Post »

Come and visit Palawan

Read Full Post »

To my fellow countrymen, again we are asking for your help and support!

Read Full Post »

CUYO
Getting Here
From the Port of Puerto Princesa City to Cuyo
Distance: 156 N.m.
Travel Time: 12 hr. (Milagrosa and Montenegro)

From Ilo-ilo City to Cuyo
Travel Time : 8-9 hr, (Milagrosa and Montenegro)

From Manila to Cuyo
Seajourney
Departure in Manila- Sunday – Monday  stop over to Coron then Tuesday Arrival to Cuyo.

The town was first colonized by the Spaniards in 1622 by Count de San Agustin, and was made the 2nd capital of Palawan in 1873 to 1903 next to Taytay. It is an old Town in Palawan that despite progress has preserved its cultural heritage.
CUYO FORT – built during early Spanish period, purposely to protect the Cuyunon from their enemies. It is considered as one of the most ancient and unique Fort in the archipelago. Unique in the sense that you could find the church, the convent and the Perpetual Adoration Chapel within the Fort.
AGUADO PILGRIMAGE – Reenactment of the Way To The Cross, done every Holy Week.
CAPUSAN BEACH – Ideal place for wind surfing. Noted for its white sand, clean and crystal-clear water.
TABUNAN BEACH – Ideal place for swimming, it has white sand, clean and crystal-clear water.
IMALAGUAN FISH SANCTUARY
QUIMINATIN ISLAND
PANDAN ISLAND
PAMALICAN ISLAND
MANAMOC ISLAND – White sandy beaches, lagoon, mangrove forests, ideal for diving or snorkeling.
PLACES TO STAY
AMANPULO
Aman Group of Resorts
Gen. Manager. Mr. Miguel Guedes Desoufa
Tel: (02) 759-4040
Fax: (02) 759-4044
Booking Office & Mailing Address: Air Ads Hangar, Andrews Avenue, Pasay City
E-mail: amanpulo@amanresorts.com/reservations@amanpulo
http://www.amanresorts.com
DOT Accredited Class “AAA” Resort
Facilities & Services: World Class Island Resort

Quijano Windsurfing Retreat
Email:  info@philippineswindsurfing.com

Website: http://www.philippineswindsurfing.com/ Contact # +63 929 603 3275
“Quijano Windsurfing Retreat” has a very peaceful ambiance and is located at a sand beach lined with palm trees and beautiful cottages built at the foot of a small hill covered with trees. The wind blows on shore slightly from the left, permitting long rides inside the bay or going over the reef into the waves. Mediocre windsurfers and kite surfers find ideal conditions to practice the water start in chest deep crystal clear water.

FEROLAND LODGING HOUSE
Fely A. Lagrosa
Tenga-Tenga, Cuyo
Mobile: 0921-790-4848
Facilities & Services: aircon rooms with T&B, hot & cold shower, TV, 24 hrs. Electricity
NIKKI’S PENSION
Ms. Elida P. Salazar
Poblacion, Cuyo
Mobile: 0920-876-0008 / 0915-386-5201
Facilities & Services: aircon/fan rooms with private/common T&B, restaurant, sing-along bar & boat for hire.

PSU-PCAT LODGING HOMETEL AND BAYWATCH RESORT
(Inside PCAT Campus)
Facilities & Services: non-aircon rooms with common T&B, function hall, picnic huts.

TABUNAN BEACH COTTAGES
Mr. Jess Sandoval
Suba, Cuyo, Palawan
Facilities & Services: beachfront cottages with common T&B, picnic huts, function hall.
Note: For more Information on this Municipality, please contact the: Municipal Government of Cuyo; The Municipal Planning Office, Municipal Hall, Cuyo. Designated Municipal Tourism Officer Mobile: 0920-296-7375

Read Full Post »

Palawan

Historical Background

Archeological findings indicate that the first Filipino once lived in the Tabon Caves complex, Quezon, Palawan. A Tiabia Bone of a man and a skull cap of a woman unearthed in 1962, carbonated to be 47,000 and 16,000 years old respectively, bore testimony to this, thus gave credit to the caves as “The Cradle of Philippine Civilization”.

Studies showed that there came three waves of migration from Asia to Palawan passing through the land bridges of Balabac, in the following order: The Pygmies (Aetas/Negritos); the Indonesians to this group belong the Tagbanuas; and the Malays.

Historical records, also show that long before Spaniards discover the Philippines in 1521, inhabitants of Palawan were already doing the commerce with ancient Chinese traders, particularly in the coastal areas of Calamianes. This is evidenced by the sizeable amount of Chinese porcelains, jars and other relics found in Palawan today.

Palawan was then known as the Province of Calamianes, with Taytay as its capital. Poor and inadequate transportation and communications however, made governance arduous thus in 1858 the province was divided into two, CASTILLA and AUSTRIAS. “Castilla” included Cuyo, Taytay, Calamian, Busuanga and adjacent islands with Taytay as its Capital. “Austrias” comprised all municipalities south of Taytay down to Balabac. Puerto Princesa was its Capital.

Castilla and Austrias were to be short-lived however. In 1862 a royal decree again divided Palawan into two Provinces, “Calamianes” and “Paragua”. To the former was added Bacuit. And to encourage migrants to settle in these Provinces, no tax were levied for a period of ten years. In 1873, the capital of PARAGUA was transferred from Taytay to Cuyo.

The Peace Treaty between the Spain and United States of America in 1898 gave way to American Regime. In 1901, a Military Government was established with Mayor John Brown as Lieutenant Governor. Eventually in June 23, 1902 the American established the Civil Government of Paragua with Major J. Brown as the appointed Governor. In 1905 pursuant to Act No. 1363 of the Philippine Commission, the name PARAGUA was changed to PALAWAN and the capital was transferred from Cuyo to Puerto Princesa.

American governance laid emphasis on Education, Agriculture, Medical Assistance, and Right of Tribal Minorities were also considered. Because of its democratic ways and enlightened policies, Americans succeeded in uniting the people.

At the outbreak of World War II, Japanese Imperial Forces occupied Palawan on May 18, 1942. They established garrisons in Curon, Puerto Princesa and Iwahig. Consequently guerillas were formed in three sectors ked by Capt. Carlos Amores in Calamianes, Dr. Higinio Mendoza, Sr. (Governor elect 1931-1937) in the Mainland and Emilio Tumbaga in Brooke’s Point. Palawan was liberated in 1945.

HOW IT IS NAMED



The name Palawan was believed to come from Chinese word “PA-LAO-YU” meaning “The Land Of Beautiful Safe Harbor” and a Spanish word PARAGUA which likens the shape of the islands to a closed umbrella.

Read Full Post »

Cuyo Islands, Palawan/Philippines

Where most collections of pristine, relatively uninhabited tropical islands have been “discovered” and developed for tourism, the 45-island Cuyo Archipelago has somehow been skipped over, perhaps because of its remote location in the expansive Philippine archipelago. Most of its serene islets are uplifted coral reefs, making it the perfect luxury yacht charter destination for days of uninterrupted island-hopping, diving and snorkeling in the vibrantly blue-green sea, wandering powdery gold- or white-sand beaches, bird-watching, and clambering around hidden caves. One of the few volcanic islands, main Cuyo Island features the archipelago’s only real town — home to an impressive Spanish church fort built in 1680 and still in use today — and is particularly popular destination for windsurfers. Explore the islands yourself to find your favourite beaches (Pandan and Seland Islands are particularly popular), and stop in at Pamalican Island for a luxurious interlude at the world-renowned Amanpulo Resort.

Read Full Post »